Samajbadi Party, Rastriya Janata Party Nepal, agree to merge and launch new political party – Madhesh Update

Samajbadi Party, Rastriya Janata Party Nepal, agree to merge and launch new political party

   June 19, 2020  

Samajwadi Party and Rastriya Janata Party Nepal announced to merge and launch a new political party Wednesday midnight. As per the unification deal, the new political party will be named “Janata Samajbadi Party”. The unification document was signed by Mahantha Thakur, Rajendra Mahato, Mahendra Raya Yadav and Saratsingh Bhandari on behalf of the RJPN while Dr Baburam Bhattarai, Upendra Yadav, Ashok Rai and Rajendra Shrestha signed the document on behalf of Samajbadi Party.

The new development comes barely two days after President Bidya Devi Bhandari issued an ordinance paving room for the split of the parties at the recommendation of the Council of Ministers.

As per the new deal, the new party will use the flag of Samajbadi Party and election symbol RJP’s umbrella.

Meanwhile, a group of seven members of parliament including Renu Yadav from the Samajbadi Party decided to quit and launch a new political party on Wednesday night. The splinter group of the Samajbadi Party is preparing to register the party at the Election Commission most likely on Thursday, according to sources.

MPs Surendra Yadav, Istiyak Rai, Pradeep Yadav, Umashankar Argariya, Kaludevi Biswakarma and Renuka Gurung held a secret meeting at MP Renu Yadav’s residence in New Baneswor.

On Tuesday evening, President Bhandari issued the ordinance related to amendment in the provisions of the Political Party Act. The new ordinance allows leaders of a political party to split the party if they have   40 per cent support either in the central committee or the parliamentary party.

The second ordinance makes it possible to convene a meeting of the Constitutional Council even without the participation of the main opposition party leader. The Constitutional Council, headed by the prime minister, makes constitutional appointments.